Featured Photo: Beauty Is In the Eye of the Beholder — and Photographer

Ugly Is Beautiful:  Well, I don’t think the wall is ugly.  But that’s the whole point.  Finding beauty in decay, finding interest in things we often overlook.  One of the things I love about photography is that it has made me appreciate the world around me much more than before.

The following photo is of an abandoned building in West Virginia, the Trans-Allegheny Lunatic Asylum.  The paint was peeling off the walls, creating a fantastic texture.

Doctor's wall

A decaying doctor’s office at the Trans-Allegheny Lunatic Asylum in Weston, West Virginia. Some of the doctors had special wings, where their wife and children would stay. Can you imagine being a kid, living and growing up at an insane asylum?

Anybody who reads me blog or looks at my Ken Lee Photography website knows that I love abandoned buildings.  They have stories to tell.  And fantastic photographic opportunities, with its texture, decay, and more.

Equipment:  Nikon D90, 18-200mm VR Nikkor lens

2 thoughts on “Featured Photo: Beauty Is In the Eye of the Beholder — and Photographer

    • Yes, in fact, I didn’t move the chair at all. It was there when I got there. Everything is natural lighting, streaming in from the window. I just think the texture of the peeling paint is so gorgeous.

      I think about what it would be like to live there. This was the doctor’s quarters, and his wife and children would live in the “lunatic asylum”. What would that have been like? It’s a fantastic building, and if you are in West Virginia, I definitely recommend checking it out.

Leave a Reply

