Featured Photo: Go With the Gut (Jumbo Rock, Joshua Tree)

Epic Rock, Jumbo Rocks, Joshua Tree

Jumbo Rocks, Joshua Tree National Park, taken 28 April 2012 during my a 24-hour photographic trip to the desert.

Usually, I get an idea that the photos I’m taking might be great in black and white. Not so here. It was only when I was fiddling around in Photoshop that I felt the drama and emotional potency of the photo was greatly enhanced in black and white. With photos or any sort of art, I go with the gut.

Taken with the Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8, which I just purchased very recently.  And you know how it is with a new lens.  You must use it *everywhere*!  I never took the 18-200mm VR or the 50mm f/1.4 out of the bag. I took this photo with an especially small aperture to create the rays emanating from the sun at the crown of the rock.

Equipment:  Nikon D90, Tokina AT-X 116 Pro DX AF 11-16mm f/2.8 Lens For Nikon

VISIT ME, VISIT ME!
You can see more of these photos here  on my Ken Lee Photography Facebook Page (poke your head in, say hi, and “like” the page if you would, uh, like).

And you can go to the Ken Lee Photography website, which has more photos from Ken Lee.  And you may purchase prints, framed or unframed, at my photo store.  Thank you very much for visiting!

Please consider using the links below from amazon.com to support this photography blog.  It doesn’t cost you anything but helps keep the blog going.  Thanks!

Nikon D90 12.3MP Digital SLR Camera (Body Only)

Feisol Travel CT-3441S Rapid 4-Section Carbon Traveler Tripod with PC-36N/NS Photo Clam Ballhead. I actually have the CT-3441T tripod, which is a bit taller.

Tokina AT-X 116 Pro DX AF 11-16mm f/2.8 Lens For Nikon

Nikon MC-DC2 Remote Release Cord for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras

Leave a Reply

