Bowling Ball Beach – Long Exposure Photo of the California Coast

Bowling Ball Beach, Mendocino County, near Point Arena.

Please click on the photo to view it.  The algorithms for making it smaller seem to make it look blurry.  Thanks.

I mentioned to you that this trip, in contrast to the previous Alabama Hills/395 trip, was full of difficulty, didn’t I? The bulk of it began today.

I covered the camera with a plastic bag from Ralph’s, set up the tripod and got down low to photograph these incredible rocks, which were often in rows, very unusual. But such unusual formations produce unusual splashes. Five minutes in, I suddenly got nailed with water suddenly splashing very high up, surprising me. The water had gotten past the plastic bag I had wrapped around the camera. It didn’t look that bad, so I went back, wiped it off with a towel, and continued shooting.

That was to be Mistake #1: If your camera gets wet, do not turn it on again. You cannot fry a circuit if it doesn’t have any juice.

Title: Bowling Ball Beach 1
Info: Nikon D90, Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 lens, Feisol tripod, f/14, ISO 200, 10-second exposure
Photography: Ken Lee
Location: Bowling Ball Beach, Mendocino County, California, USA

The ebb and flow of the tide, when photographed for ten seconds, creates a misty otherworldly look. It’s a very calming, peaceful sort of look, ironic to me since I find long exposure photography at the coast to be anything but peaceful, contending with splashing water, high winds, salt water and sand pelting my camera, lens fogging up, the tide shifting the sand underneath the tripod, difficulty setting up shots, and other things.  It’s not the actual photography itself, but more the peripheral aspects that seem challenging to me. But that’s part of the reason I went on this trip: gaining experience in this kind of photography.

Leave a Reply

